FAQs

Pension (34)

Who administers the Plan?

An independent Board of Trustees consisting of an equal number of representatives appointed by I.U.O.E., Local No. 12, and the Employer Associations in accordance with Federal law.

When did pension benefits begin?

February, 1962, was the first month in which benefits were paid.

What does “retirement” mean?

Prior to age 65, you will be considered “retired” if you withdraw completely and refrain from any work in employment of the type covered by a Collective Bargaining Agreement regardless of the location of such employment or whether such employment is actually covered by a Collective Bargaining Agreement.

After age 65, you will be considered “retired” if you withdraw and refrain from employment in excess of 39 hours in a calendar month in the same industry, in the same trade or craft, in the States of California and Nevada.

Generally speaking, your pension will not be paid during any month in which you work at the kind of job which is prohibited by the Plan. (See question 25 on for more information).

Must I retire when I reach a specific age?

No. You may continue working as long as you like. Retirement under this Pension Plan is voluntary. There is no mandatory retirement age.

HOWEVER, IF YOU ARE A 5% OWNER OF THE EMPLOYER OR YOU HAVE STOPPED WORKING IN COVERED EMPLOYMENT, YOUR PENSION PAYMENTS WILL AUTOMATICALLY BEGIN NO LATER THAN APRIL I OF THE CALENDAR YEAR FOLLOWING THE YEAR IN WHICH YOU TURN 70 1/2 YEARS OF AGE.

When should I file my application for benefits?

Applications for pensions must be filed prior to the first day of the month on which you expect your pension payments to begin.

View category→

Health & Welfare (13)

What happens if I recieve an overpayment on a claim?

If you believe that you have been overpaid, it is your responsibility to notify the Fund Office immediately. When an overpayment is discovered, the Trustees expect immediate repayment. A schedule of installment payments may be acceptable if immediate repayment is not possible. This will require coordination with the Fund Office. If repayment is not made, payment of future claims will be withheld until complete recovery is made.

What happens if I discover that a provider of service has overcharged?

If a provider of service has overcharged, you should notify the Fund Office immediately and the Fund Office will investigate the matter. If, in fact, an error has occurred you may also be entitled to receive 50% of any amounts recovered as a result of that error with a maximum payment of $1,000. If the Fund Office has already discovered and resolved the problem, you will not be entitled to 50% of the amount recovered. This policy does not apply to PPO-contracted hospitals.

Are common-law marrages or domestic partnerships recognized by the plan?

No. Common-law marriages and domestic partnerships are not recognized by the Plan. A common-law spouse or a domestic partner is not a legal spouse as defined by the Board of Trustees and benefits cannot be paid for such an individual even if common-law marriage or domestic partnership is recognized in the State in which the Plan participant resides.

Is the widow or dependent of a deceased participant covered by The Plan?

If the deceased participant was an Active member and eligible for Health & Welfare coverage at the time of death, coverage for his spouse and other dependents will continue, including coverage for all reserve hours plus an additional six months. This coverage is provided at no charge.

After those extensions of eligibility have ceased, a widow who has not remarried or is not eligible for group insurance other than Medicare, or a dependent child without other group insurance, may participate in the Active Health & Welfare Plan as long as the monthly fee required by the Board of Trustees is paid. That fee is subject to change. When the widow reaches age 65, she may be covered by the Retiree Plan and Medicare would be the primary carrier.

If the deceased participant was a Retired member and eligible for Health & Welfare coverage, his spouse and eligible dependents remain covered for the month during which he/she died as well as an additional six months at no charge.

At the end of that period, a widow who has not remarried or is not eligible for group insurance other than Medicare, or a dependent child without other group insurance, may continue coverage as long as the monthly fee required by the Board of Trustees is paid. That fee is subject to change.

What happens if I divorce and remarry?

If the participant has divorced and remarried, the Fund Office will require copies of the Final Decree of Divorce and the certified copy of the Certificate of Marriage to the new spouse, as well as a new Health & Welfare Enrollment Form. Benefits on behalf of a new spouse or step-children will not be available until these documents have been submitted to the Fund Office.

View category→